Solomon explanation of fields and codes in database

Introduction | Fields and codes | Detection limits | Grid co-ordinates | Summary information | Bibliographic references | Contact information | Contents of this CD | Purchase information

2.1 Choiseul

2.1.1 Explanation of lithological and Geological unit codes used for Choiseul

Lithology Lithcode Geological Unit Geolcode
Limestone L Pemba Formation P
Basalt B Voza Lavas V
Clastic sediment S Mole Formation M
Superficials C Quaternary (undiff) Q
Andesite A Nukiki Limestone Formation N
Schist D Komboro Volcanics K
Gabbro G Andesite (undiff) A
Ultramafics U Maetambe Volcanics T
    Choiseul Schists C
    Oaka Metamicrogabbro O
    Siruka Ultramfics S

2.1.2 AreaCode

The AreaCode is a number series code that must be used with the SampNo (Sample Number) to give a unique ID.

2.1.3 Map

A local code used by fieldworkers to identify which map they were working on. Code translation not available.

2.1.4 SampType

F = Fluvatile (i.e. drainage sediment)
S = Soil

2.2 New Georgia Group

2.2.1 Island codes (Iscode) for the New Georgia Group

  • VL  Vella Lavella
  • RA  Ranongga
  • GZ  Ghizo (no stream samples taken)
  • KB  Kolombangara
  • NG  New Georgia
  • RE  Rendova
  • TP  Tetepare
  • VA  Vangunu
  • NK  Nggatokae

2.2.2 Lithology codes (Lithcode) used in the New Georgia Group data

  •   Hornblende andesite, plus minor basaltic andesite and rare dacite
  • AH  Hypersthene andesite and basaltic andesite
  •   Olivine basalt, in places with picritic and ankaramitic flows
  • BA  Basaltic andesite
  • BF  Feldsparphyric basalt with minor felsparphyric trachybasaltic andesite
  • DG  Diorite - Gabbro, Choe intrusion complex, South New Georgia
  •   Gabbro
  •   Coralline limestone
  •   Superficial deposits (largely volcanogenic)

2.2.3 Informal lithostratigraphic codes (Geolcode) used in the New Georgia Group data

  • CD  Choe intrusion complex, South New Georgia (gabbro - diorite - tonalite))
  •   Kolo Volcanic Centre, South New Georgia (picrites, olivine basalts ankaramitic basalts
  • IG  Gabbro, Iana Hill, South-west New Georgia
  •   Kela Volcanic Formation, Ranongga
  • KB  Kolombangara volcanics (olivine basalt lavas and breccias, rare andesite)
  •   Coralline Limestone, mostly coastal areas. Stream sediment geochemistry contolled by dominant volcanic lithology in hinterland
  • MA  Mase Volcanic Centre, North New Georgia (olivine basalt lavas and breccias, minor feldsparphyric basalts)
  • MB  Mbareke Volcanic Centre, Vangunu
  •   Nondo Volcanics, North Vella Lavella (mainly hornblende andesite basalt lavas and breccias with minor basaltic andesites and dacites.
  • NK  Nggatokae Volcanic Centre (hypersthene andesite and basaltic andesite lavas and breccias
  •   Oula Formation, South Vella Lavella (calcareous clastic sediments)
  •   Pilipilo Volcanics, Central Vella Lavella (olivine basalt lavas and breccias)
  •   Feldsparphyric basalts and volcanogenic sediments
  • RF  Rendova formation, informal grouping of olivine basalts and feldsparphyric basalts
  • RV  Ravete Volcanic Centre, central-northern New Georgia (olivine basalt lavas and breccias)
  •   Superficial deposits, sediments and alluvium with volcanogenic detritus
  • SM  Sumbulo lavas, North Vangunu (feldsparphyric basalts)
  • SV  Sakambare lavas, northern and central New Georgia (feldsparphyric basalts)
  • Tv  Tuara Formation, Ranongga
  • TF  Tetepare Formation, Tetepare and southern Rendova (uplifted forearc sedimentary sequence of hemipelagic limestones, and turbiditic sandstones, siltstones and debris flow deposits)
  • TV  Tita volcanics, central New Georgia (olivine basalt lavas and breccias)
  • Uv  Urmangge volcanics, southern Vella Lavella (mainly hornblende andesite and basaltic andesite lavas and breccias
  • VA  Vangunu Volcanic Centre (hornblende andesite lavas and breccias)