Aquifer Designation Data

Aquifer Designation Data sample

Aquifer Designation Data coverage

Scale 1:50 000
Coverage England and Wales
Format GIS polygon data (ESRI, MapInfo, others available by request)
Price On application

The aquifer designation dataset has been created by the Environment Agency/Natural Resources Wales and British Geological Survey, and identifies the different aquifers of England and Wales.

From 1 April 2010 Groundwater Protection Policy in England and Wales will be using aquifer designations that are consistent with the Water Framework Directive.

These designations reflect the importance of aquifers in terms of groundwater as a resource (drinking water supply) but also their role in supporting surface water flows and wetland ecosystems.

The maps are split into two different type of aquifer designation:

  • Superficial (drift) — permeable unconsolidated (loose) deposits. For example, sands and gravels
  • Bedrock — solid permeable formations e.g. sandstone, chalk and limestone

The maps display the following aquifer designations:

  • Principal aquifers
  • Secondary aquifers (further subdivided into Secondary A, Secondary B, and Secondary Undifferentiated)
  • Unproductive strata

The dataset for England is available to view on the Environment Agency's 'What's in your back yard?' service.


Contact Digital Data for more information.

Hutton field: well correlation diagram.