Non-glaciated province

Quaternary provinces showing glaciation limits

The landmass of Great Britain can be divided into two distinct provinces, based on the landscape evolution during the Quaternary. The two provinces are the non-glaciated province, lying south of the known limit of the Anglian glaciation in England, and the glaciated province to the north of this limit.

Landscape development in the non-glaciated province was initiated during the Neogene (about 24 Ma), but was mostly influenced by the multiple climatic changes, ranging between periglacial, cool temperate and warm temperate, which occurred throughout the Quaternary. The processes of weathering, erosion and sedimentation were driven by this climate change: their record and inheritance has been little disturbed by external influences, and accumulated over a relatively long period of time.

Non-glaciated province


For further information please contact Marieta Garcia-Bajo