Quaternary domains

The BGS recognises 11 different Quaternary domains. These domains are represented by consistent geomorphological features (landforms), with typical assemblages or groupings of superficial deposits, and are partly defined by the genetic processes that formed both the deposits and landforms.

A description of each domain is found in the following links, including a map showing the extent of the domain, the nature of the typical landforms, the proportion of the areal coverage of peat for each domain, the genetic processes that controlled the formation of peat and a table summarising the classification, and relative abundance, of the mire types.

Glaciated province: uplands

Glaciated province: lowlands

Non-glaciated province

The above domain information is sourced from (in press.) Quaternary Mapping Methodologies. BGS Internal Report.


For further information please contact Marieta Garcia-Bajo