BGS logoMineralsUK logo

Minerals Information Online

Map of the minerals regions Central Belt, Scotland North East North West Yorkshire and The Humber East Midlands West Midlands East of England South East South West London

This web Geographical Information System (GIS) provides online access to minerals-related data and information.

The data are based on the digitally-generated mineral resources maps which can be purchased or downloaded individually.

Primarily a map-based site, it is intended as a decision-support system for land-use planning at the local and regional scale.

Users can select and display a wide range of spatial data which includes mineral resources, mineral planning permissions (licences) (in England only) and environmental designations.

Information related to individual sites can be displayed and users can ‘drill-down’ to obtain all information held on a point location.

The site provides a large amount of text-based background information on individual mineral resources, as well as more information on mineral planning permissions and other environmental designations.

The display of some of these data is scale dependent. However, detailed digital maps and associated attribute information for mineral resources and mineral planning permissions shown on this site are available under licence from the British Geological Survey.

GIS screen image of East Midlands region, BGS©NERC

Other datasets displayed on this GIS may be available for licensing from the following third party data providers:

The Coal Authority (Coal Licence areas [underground and surface], areas of extracted opencast coal).

Natural England (Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Sites of Special Scientific Interest, National Nature Reserves, Special Areas of Conservation, Special Protection Areas and Ramsar Sites).

English Heritage or Historic Scotland (Scheduled Monuments).

Scottish Natural Heritage (National Nature Reserves, National Parks, Sites of Special Scientific Interest in Scotland Ramsar, Special Protection Areas and Special Areas of Conservation).

Scottish Government (National Scenic Area Boundaries).