Logo for the Association of Geoscientists for International Development

Latest news
Structure navigation
Regions navigation
Activities navigation
Membership navigation
Finance navigation
Publications navigation
IUGS navigation
International Year of Planet Earth navigation
Links navigation
AGID header

Organisational structure of AGID

AGID is governed by a council elected by the membership every four years during the General Assembly of AGID. When there are insufficient nominations for council, vacancies may be filled by co-option of individuals who are members of AGID.

The officers of the association are all council members and consist of the President (elected separately), the immediate past-president, vice presidents for Africa, Asia, South America and the developed countries (currently VP’s for Canada and Europe), the secretary/treasurer and the editor of Geoscience and Development. All officers serve a maximum of two consecutive terms of four years except for the secretary/treasurer and editor who are selected every four years but may serve for more than two consecutive terms if approved at each general assembly. The executive committee comprises the president, immediate past-president and secretary treasurer (constitutional change pending).

The current officers (2004-2008) are:

President: Ms Afia Akhtar, Geological Survey of Bangladesh, Segunbagicha, Dhaka-1000, Bangladesh. E-mail: afia@agni.com

Immediate Past-President: Dr Shrikant D Limaye, Director, Groundwater Institute, 2050 Sadashiv Peth, Vijayanagar Colony, Pune 411030’ India
E-mail: limaye@vsnl.com

Secretary/Treasurer: Dr A J Reedman, 15
Malvern Road, Mapperley, Nottingham NG3 5GZ, United Kingdom.
E-mail: antony@areedman.wanadoo.co.uk

Editor: Dr Deryck Laming, Geoscience and Development, The Elms, Crabb Lane,
Exeter EX2 9JD, United Kingdom.
E-mail: geodev@eclipse.co.uk

Ms Afia Akhtar, President of AGID. © Ms Afia Akhtar

Ms Afia Akhtar, President of AGID.

Vice Presidents:
Prof Viqar Husain (Pakistan)
E-mail: viqarpk@yahoo.com

Dr Arlei Macedo (Brazil)
E-mail: abmacedo@usp.br

Dr Vaclav Nemec (Czech Republic)
E-mail: lidmila.nemcova@quick.cz

Dr Gbenga Okunlola (Nigeria)
E-mail: obengaokunlola@yahoo.com

Dr Sandra Barr (Canada)
E-mail: sandra.barr@acadiau.ca

lHome lStructure l Regions l Activities l Membership l Finances l Publications l IUGS l IYPE2008 l Links l
©AGID 2014. This site is hosted by the British Geological Survey but responsibility for the content of the site lies with AGID not with the British Geological Survey. Questions, suggestions or comments regarding the contents of this site should be directed to Antony Reedman.